Fluff and Ruffle

Little kids sometimes dress really embarrassingly. They could wear a shower cap to school paired with a neon sweater vest and glitter leggings. They could dress up in a fairy costume – wings included and wear that to school. They could end up with a pair of your college brother’s old race-car underwear doubling as a hat! But sometimes they can dress up really cute! An old favorite is the mini tutu.

Tutus are adorable on toddlers! First of all, they are fluffy. I love a good poofy skirt on a baby. The fluffiness can only go so far though. I mean, you can’t go around in something that looks like a ballet costume with a pancake for a skirt! Ruffles and lace are good material for tutus. They accentuate that fluffiness. Tulle and satin create a sweet, innocent presence and if you can pull off that charming cupcake look then tutus are right for you!

Another thing about tutus is that they pair with simpler items so you don’t go over-the-top-80’s-party-crazy. You can wear them with a plain colored top with simple sleeves and no pattern. I used to have this really cute dress that had a tutu style skirt. It was a marble pink with salmon satin ruffles. Soooooo cute for a little kid.

Tutus can be like a skirt, or an accessory. They are versatile and cute. Hey not the hottest style but it works!

Lastly, they come in a bunch of different styles. Like you can get a flatter tutu, or a poofy one. A layered one, or a one ruffle skirt. A dress, skirt, costume so be it. They come in tons of colors and materials too. The best are light pink, slightly poofy and slightly flat, with lace overlay.

I wouldn’t pick a tutu for me, but for a baby or something then why not? Little kids are less fashion obsessed anyway. Plus I can always just pick a tutu for a costume or dress up day thing at school. Tutus are like the most versatile skirts and the most sweet cupcake type! Tutus are ADORABLE!

3 thoughts on “Fluff and Ruffle

  1. What a unique and interesting topic! This is an example of a post that could be enhanced with photos: just think of the cute pics of kids in tutus you could use to show the adorableness you describe!

  2. When I was little, I used to always wear tutus with a bunch of sparkly necklaces and plastic high heels. I loved playing dress up and thought I was a princess!!!

    • I used to love dress-up! Sometimes I would borrow my mom’s high heels and attempt to walk in those, even if they were way too big! Sometimes I would beg my mom to buy me those silly, cheap princess costumes with giant, poofy tutus and wear those around! For, like, three Halloweens in a row, I was a princess!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *