Get to the Pointe

Most people have passions for sports, school, art or something like that, but I love to dance.

Not just meaningless bouncing around a room while crazily spinning and flailing your arms, definitely not! Obvioulsy, I mean dancing as in I-have-been-taking-classes-since-I-was-three kind of dance. Like lyrical, ballet, contemporary, jazz, tap, hip hop, technique. I think dance is just the most beautiful and fun thing in the world.

First, dance is free, you can just express yourself, let out your feelings. Show your complex human emotions. When you play sports you are just hardened into this mad, heaving beast trying to achieve some kind of weird goal. In sports your breath comes in ragged, raspy gasps. In dance, you feel breathless in a new and fascinating way. Every step you take, every breath you breathe, is pleasure – pure bliss. It’s a privilege to breathe. Every breath is a gift, and it makes you feel free. I’m just happy when I dance. In dance your goal is to be happy, to have fun, to enjoy every moment of that bliss you have with yourself or that you share with other dancers. Dance makes you free and happy.

Next, dance allows you a few moments to be a show off. Everybody loves feeling proud, when everybody else is watching you twist and twirl like a graceful swan you feel like nobody else outshines you, nobody else can match you. Dance makes you feel proud and peerless.

Lastly, dance has a point when you begin, you start this whole major thing… YOU start something big. Then YOU get to finish it. Everybody claps, cheers, and screams your name. As the curtain falls you realize you just created a majesty. A piece of art. You get to create something. Even if you didn’t choreograph the dance, YOU performed it. YOU should get the credit because you just did all that hard work and added your own personal piece of your soul and passion to it, you dedicated a part of your life to this dance. You get to create something and be dedicated to something. You get to have a passion.

Doesn’t all this make sense? Doesn’t dance just sound perfect and amazing and beautiful? Dance can be your escape from some of the harsh things in reality. Dance can be your real life dream. I just explained to you why it’s mine. I love to dance. It’s the most beautiful, lovely, and fabulous thing in the entire universe.

20140213-155622.jpg

6 thoughts on “Get to the Pointe

  1. “When you play sports you are just hardened into this mad, heaving beast trying to achieve some kind of weird goal.” Love your use of imagery throughout–the way you contrast the athlete with the dancer. Well done!

  2. I really liked that you wrote about your passion. You wrote about what you love in a very neat and descriptive way. I have danced for only a few years now, and I couldn’t agree more on what you said about dancing. I really enjoyed reading this blog post. How will you continue with your dancing career? Anyways, well done!

  3. Hello I am Simone, I am 12. I love your blog! I think it is great that you have a great love of dance. I like all the pictures and how good the things you write are. If you would like to look at my blog I will leave a link.
    Link: http://simonec6.edublogs.org

  4. I like how you have a passion for dancing. It’s interesting how you can learn one thing and keep it in your brain. If I had to remember these dance steps, I would forget. My passion is volleyball.

  5. Great Job on this blogpost! Most of the time, I hear everyone talking about their fascination with basketball, or football. But reading this blogpost made me happy to see that someone else has an interest in some exotic sport. Keep up the great work, and have fun dancing!

  6. Thank you for all your sweet comments!
    As for these questions let’s see…
    I’m definitely going to continue dancing, but I don’t know exactly where
    I will go and what I will do. For now let me just read you this quote,
    “Dancing is not about trying to get to a certain place on the floor, it’s about enjoying each step along the way.”
    That is exactly what I am going to do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *