Passion

Anatomy of a                dancer

– Jessica Bondreaux

A dancer’s heart beats in eight-count

A dancer’s eyes always shine

A dancer’s soul is filled with music

So their feet always fall in time

A dancer feels like no other

The vibrant rthythm of life

And it all goes into the performance

All the joy and all the strife

So remember that with dancers

A little patience is what you need

Because their minds are otherwise engaged

Dancers are truly a different breed

This poem is so relatable to a dancer! I can just feel everything the author says. I’m like, “Yes! I can feel my heart beat the same way! We always dance in eight-counts. My soul swirls and floats along with the music when I dance, it is filled with it! I feel like no other! I feel love and life and bliss and wonder all at the same time.” All of our time, energy, and feeling goes into our performance, and we wait patiently to reach those “one-day I will” goals.

We, as dancers, are different people than everyone else because we really feel the music, and experience a passion no other person has experienced before. We pour both body and soul into the melody, and this refreshes ourselves.

This poem connects to all of that.

There is a quote, “Dance allows you to find yourself and lose yourself at the same time.” This links to my feeling about dance and also to this poem.

In dance, you can just get lost inside the music, but you can also find a part of yourself you never knew you had, hidden, locked away. In the depths of your heart. That part of you is called Your Passion.

Beautiful Concentration
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: Patrick McDonald via Compfight
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: dancer Dallagio via Compfight

3 thoughts on “Passion

  1. Oh yes I do love to dance! Dance is my life, love, and passion. I have been dancing for ten years.

  2. Hi! I like how it is noticable that dancing is your passion. I really enjoyed the poem, if I were able to dance I bet I would feel all this emotion. I have read the post before this one and it is really good. You have an amazing blog!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *